Every once in a while…..

I wish that Dr. House really existed. Though I doubt that Mariella’s case would interest him much. He’d probably pass on it. Maybe, just maybe, though, there would be enough mystery in her case study that he would decide to take it on…or maybe one of his team is a sucker for tiny, curly headed cuties who have trouble breathing.

It seems like for every one great day we have, we have 10 that suck. Ok, maybe not 10…but since I posted about her great day…every day since has been horrible. Culminating in this evening when she asked for her puffer earlier in the day, and this evening, when I said, “I don’t like how you sound, we’re doing a treatment.” she didn’t argue, at all. Treatments may only take 5 minutes, but she still hates doing them. The only thing that made it tolerable tonight was that her friend was over, and he had to do nebs as well. Normally, she would have complained, said she didn’t need to, because it would have ticked her friend off to NO end, that she didn’t have to, and he did. The children are as close to siblings as 2 children that are not siblings can be. This includes the propensity to torture one another, and to tease one another unmercifully.
So, she did a treatment at about 8:30PM and it’s just over 2 hours later, and she’s coughing up a storm in bed. She hasn’t woken up yet, but that’s not unusual. Her body is so used to doing it’s thing, that she rarely wakes up for the cough. Her Pulmonologist says that’s not unusual for children that have such poor control for so long. Instead of asking if asthma symptoms wake HER up more than twice a week, he asks if her asthma symptoms wake ME up more than twice a week.
Of course, I have to work tomorrow, and I really SHOULD get a good nights sleep…but I’ll be listening to her breathe, rather than sleeping…and I’ll be exhausted tomorrow. Ah, well…it is what it is.

2 Responses to “Every once in a while…..”


  1. 1 run2wintheprize July 16, 2010 at 2:30 am

    Does anyone else besides you wake up when M coughs at night?

  2. 2 Sara C. July 16, 2010 at 3:18 am

    nope…Abby has her door closed, Rob sleeps with a CPAP, due to sleep apnea. I probably WOULDN’T wake up, due to both her door and my door being closed, but I keep a monitor in her room. I’m just more comfortable with that, because she doesn’t always wake me up if she’s feeling poorly, but I’ll be able to hear it if she’s tummy sick.


Leave a comment