When reality becomes a dream

I am exhausted.  Between Mariella not sleeping well because of her cough, and me not sleeping well because of MY cough…a full nights sleep hasn’t happened in a week.  It catches up to you.

The other night, Mariella’s cough penetrated my dream.  In my dream, her cough was the alarm.  In fact, when I was hitting snooze in my dream, I physically turned over and dialed the volume down on the monitor, so I couldn’t hear the cough anymore.  I either realized what I had done, or I turned the alarm clock back on in my dream, because I turned the volume back up on the monitor.  The fact that the sound of the coughing was still there is what fully woke me up and made me realize I needed to go neb Mariella.

It would be funny, if I wasn’t so mad at myself for not taking care of Mariella the way she needed to be.  She made it through the night, no worse for the wear…and it’s all good, but I still feel kind of bad.

1 Response to “When reality becomes a dream”


  1. 1 Elisheva February 13, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    That happens to me too – that stuff from real life makes it into my dreams. Feel better Mariella!


Leave a comment