One whole week…

We’ve gone one entire week with NO rescue. She isn’t COUGH free, and she still complains of tightness occasionally, but when I ask if she needs a treatment, she always says no.

Her current treatment protocol is:
Symbicort: 2 puffs BID
Atrovent: 2 Puffs TID
QVar: 2 puffs BID
Prevacid: 15 mg BID
Align: 1 capsule every day
It appears to be working for right now. She is also one week off the prednisone, I’m not sure if that’s why she’s doing so great, but I’m not going to question it too much. Here’s hoping for a nice long stretch of good breathing and open lungs.

6 Responses to “One whole week…”


  1. 1 Sarah June 6, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    That’s awesome!

    Funnily enough, I’ve been having a time of great breathing too, starting about on Thursday. I was in the Niagra region of Ontario, and my lungs seem to love it. No rescue since then! And a week ago Friday, I needed 6 doses of rescue med a day. And this despite staying in a carpeted building with three cats! Go figure.

    Here’s hoping everyone’s good breathing continues!

  2. 2 kerri June 6, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    I hope it continues too! 🙂 Yayyyy for no more pred and good breathing!

  3. 3 run2wintheprize June 7, 2010 at 1:41 am

    You guys aren’t the only ones on a good breathing streak. I’m 48+ hours no rescue right now and hoping that it stays that way. I’m a bit tight here and there, but really not bad at all. I think it comes from switching to symbicort (oh so glad that I pestered my pulmo into letting me try it) and stopping singular that contains lactose. Oh, yeah, and like everyone else, I’m off of pred,(!!!!) which is all the better for me because it contains lactose and seems to make me get way worse halfway through a course.

    So glad to hear most everyone else seems to be doing better. 🙂

  4. 4 Amy June 7, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Excellent! It’s so good to see everyone breathing better this week!

  5. 5 mymusicallungs June 9, 2010 at 5:46 am

    This is such good news.
    Interesting drugs and I’m glad the Qvar seems to be working for her-
    Long may the looser lungs continue!

  6. 6 Sara C. June 12, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    We added the Qvar as a last ditch effort this winter, when a month of 1mg pulmocort, TID, along with the symbi and atrovent AND Q4 nebs by the clock didn’t get a flare under control. We took her off the symbi at first…but added it back when it was clear that she needed it. The Prevacid and Align are for her belly. Some of her plan mimics a CFer, because she looks an awful lot like a CFer on paper, but has been tested genetically, and is clear. Whenever we see a new doctor, they ALWAYS ask…”has she been tested for CF?”


Leave a comment